Sunday’s reports indicate that referee Maurizio Mariani and assistant Daniele Bindoni will be dropped for the next round of Serie A fixtures after awarding a controversial penalty during Napoli’s 3-1 win over Inter on Saturday evening.
What happened in Napoli 3-1 Inter?
Napoli went back to the top of the Serie A standings thanks to goals from Kevin De Bruyne, Scott McTominay and Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa in an eventual 3-1 win over the Nerazzurri, who had won seven games in a row prior to Saturday’s match.
There have been complaints from the Inter camp, however, regarding the decision to award a penalty to Napoli five minutes before the end of the first half.

Giovanni Di Lorenzo found himself in the penalty area and went down under the challenge of Henrikh Mikhtaryan. Some argue, however, that Di Lorenzo was looking for the contact, and that Mkhitaryan did not make any intentional moves towards the Napoli captain, and that the penalty should not have been given.
Now, as per La Gazzetta dello Sport, the AIA have concluded that a penalty should not have been awarded to Napoli last night.
Sunday’s reports suggest that assistant referee Bindoni was the one who originally signalled for a penalty, that Mariani did not originally give it, but then changed his mind after a VAR review.

Assistant referee Bindoni is the one who has come under the most criticism for signalling for the penalty, although Mariani has also been criticised from changing his original decision.
La Gazzetta dello Sport claims that it is likely that both referees, who were also involved in the U20 World Cup final in Chile earlier this week, will be dropped for the next round of Serie A fixtures.


He should be sued for not using the VAR then… what’s the point of all these people if they can’t get their call right?
Sounds like sour grapes,
2-1 or 3-1 Napoli would’ve still won
inter had a handball last season v napoli and Napoli never got the pen , seeing the inter player basically caught the ball as well , prob the worst decision last season, also the handball by Napoli in this match the player was not even looking at the ball, as for the Napoli pen def 100% pen the inter player took the legs out , ref checked the replay to confirm, sour grapes from inter